Sneak peek at my latest project!

There are some special occasions coming up this summer and one that I am super excited for is my nephew’s first birthday! I realized that I haven’t created a blanket yet since I started taking up crochet and this occasion provides me with a great opportunity to create one! It has actually allowed me to combine a couple of other project ideas that I’ve wanted to play with, and having project pieces fall into place has been really exciting.

I have a bad tendency to start new projects before I documenting the process for the blog (which is kind of big deal given that it should be part of the main content… lol). So as I stand on the cusp of creation, let me showcase the materials that I just picked up to begin! I took a trip to the Purple Purl who provided me with some pretty Sweet Georgia yarns. I have never worked with this brand before. It is a bit pricier than what I am used to (buying yarn on a budget from Michaels), but it is a nice treat to work with natural fibres.

Originally I was planning to use a Sweet Georgia gradiented mini skein set because I wanted a graduated colour range, but realized after putting the set on hold that these sets only came in a Fingering weight and I had been planning to work at a worsted weight. I could have doubled the Fingering weight to make a light worsted yarn, however the yardage of the mini skein sets would have been halved and I would have had to buy double the amount of yarn. Thankfully, the worsted Superwash yarns offered by Sweet Georgia came in a large colour range that I was able to pick see colours in a range and pick them out individually. I also got some wonderful advice from Robbie at the Purple Purl, who helped me pick out a great colour combination to give my project some extra pop. These yarns are 100% merino wool and the skeins already feel nice and soft.

20160626_184204

I don’t have the best camera but from the top left (going clockwise), we have one skein each of West Wind, Cherry, Saltwater and two skeins of Glacier. I also have a Pound of Love from Lion Brand Yarn in white to use for the background colour of the blanket. Can’t wait to show everyone the finished results!

 

Leave a comment